These are the requirements to complete a master’s or doctoral degree in Quebec, Canada

The Colombian Institute for Educational Credit and Technical Studies Abroad (Icetex) has opened a call for scholarships for professionals in various fields to pursue a master’s or doctoral degree in Quebec, Canada.

To apply, there is only a deadline until June 10, 2021, as studies will take place between October 2021 and 2024.

Quebec offers one scholarship for master’s studies and two scholarships for doctoral studies, awarded in the form of supplemental tuition fee waiver, hereinafter referred to as “waivers”.

This will allow Colombian students to study at institutions of higher education in Quebec, and enjoy the education rights system that applies to local students.

The student must pay the salary in accordance with the provisions of the university.


1. The applicant must be over 23 years old and less than 65 years old.

2. Have a minimum average of a Bachelor’s degree (in the case of a Master’s degree) or a Master’s degree (in the case of a Ph.D.) 3.7/5.0 (specialization certificates are not accepted).

3. It is preferable to have at least one year of professional experience certified by a university, a scientific research center, a technology development center or a Colombian company in the public or private sector.

4. The applicant must have final admission to a master’s or doctoral program (as the case may be) at a university in Quebec for the fall semester 2021. In addition, they must have excellent knowledge of French or English (according to the levels required by different universities ).

5. The applicant should be in good physical and mental health.

Program content

1. Agricultural food

2. Agriculture and Livestock

3. Nutrition, Nutrients and Functional Foods

4. Rural development, regional planning

5. Environmental sciences, sustainable development and renewable energy, including water management, natural resources and forest sciences

6. Early Childhood Services

7. Educational sciences (training, evaluation, management and school adaptation).

8. Management science, financial services and management, including tax

9. Information and Communication Technology

10. Literature, Quebec Studies and French Language Instructions

11. Public Safety

12. Political Science

13. Law

14. Cinematography

15. Civil, industrial and electrical engineering.

Please note that scholarship applicants may not apply to more than one program at a time. In addition, if you have been awarded an OAS scholarship in the last 12 months, or if you currently have a scholarship for academic studies, you are not eligible to apply for another OAS scholarship.

All scholarships awarded are conditional on the continued availability of funds from the OAS Scholarship Program.

“Students are cautioned that in the event of a loss of funding for the scholarship programme, the OAS General Secretariat will be forced to suspend payment to scholarship recipients and/or educational institutions. Icetex explained that GS/OAS does not guarantee the permanent availability of funds and all scholarship recipients should be aware Scholarships that scholarship funding may end at any time, regardless of the expected amount or duration of the scholarship.

Next to, All candidates must apply through the website, otherwise they will not be considered by the National Scholarship Commission, as physical documents will not be received at any Icetex service point nationwide.

The results of the preliminary selection will be announced in due course after the National Scholarship Committee session, through the email registered by the participant at the time of the application process.

Leave a Comment